A Monster Ate My Mum

I’ve now turned this poem into a storybook. You can read it here.

Mummy used to laugh,

Mummy used to smile,

But I haven’t heard her giggle,

Or seen her happy for a while.

 

She sleeps when it’s daytime,

And is awake all through the night,

I don’t know why, I don’t know how,

But something isn’t right.

 

She doesn’t shower ever,

She doesn’t even get dressed,

Her hair looks like it needs a brush,

It’s an awful, dreadful mess.

 

Her eyes are full of sadness,

When she speaks she sounds so flat,

I heard her saying she’s ugly,

And stupid, and useless, and fat.

 

I want to make her better,

To put a smile back on her face,

I want for her to be happy again,

And for our home to be a wonderful place.

 

But for now I’ll give her cuddles,

And rest my head upon her tum,

And if ever meet the beast,

I’ll whack the monster that ate my mum.

 

 

39 thoughts on “A Monster Ate My Mum

  1. This is absolutely brilliant, I LOVE it. Fantastic to look at it from a child’s perspective. Thank you so much for linking up. I’m so honoured to be in the presence of some very talented people 🙂 x

  2. This is lovely. And scary. My son has talked about me being like this after Rich died, and what an impact it had on him at a time when he was grieving too. Seeing it in words though, just makes it clearer.

  3. Pingback: Mental Health Monday – Monday 8th April to Sunday 14th April #MHMonday | Mum in a Hurry

  4. This design is steller! You most certainly know how to keep
    a reader entertained. Between your wit and your videos,
    I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Excellent job.

    I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.

    Too cool!

Leave a Reply

