Climbing Mountains

Mountains: A mountain is a large landform that stretches above the surrounding land in a limited area usually in the form of a peak. A mountain is generally steeper than a hill.

I lay cuddly and warm,
Relishing the calm before the storm.
Head burrowed deep,
Desperately wanting, needing more sleep.

The day stretches ominously ahead,
Too long, too difficult, must stay in bed.
A mountain so hard to climb,
Until sleep again an endless time.

Effort needed, no energy there.
Only panic, fear and despair.
From warmth and comfort, feeling at ease,
To noise and madness and children to please.

But then I force myself up, breathe air,
Rub eyes, stretch limbs, smooth hair.
See smiling children, hear ‘morning mum,’
Excited, hopeful for a day of fun.

Eternal optimists, boundless joy,
Infectious, comforting, my girl and my boys.
Cuddles, love, ‘mummy’s awake,’
All the sadness, fear, away they take.

Precious children, heal me with love,
Climbing the mountain I look down from above.
This day is a good day, isn’t tough.
I soon discover days aren’t long enough.

Prose for Thought
22 thoughts on “Climbing Mountains

  1. If only they’d sleep till about 9am then life would be just perfect… I love ‘force myself up, breathe air’. That’s me – once I’m up I can just get in with it and face the day xx

  2. The juxtaposition of morn and eve is so poetic. our children play havoc with our emotions don’t they, I feel you summed it up perfectly. Thanks for this lovely #Prose4T xx

Leave a Reply

